top of page
Miss Ying-Ning (string quartet)

Miss Ying-Ning (string quartet)

  • Digital download of score & parts.

  • For string quartet (2 violins, viola, cello)

  • Duration: 16 minutes (without narration); 20 minutes (with narration)

  • Commissioned by the Composers' Guild of New Jersey for the Argus Quartet

  • Narration text by Joshua Anderson

  • Program notes:

    Miss Ying Ning was commissioned by the Composers Guild of New Jersey for the Argus Quartet’s 2019-20 Season. It draws inspiration from a story in Strange Stories from a Chinese Studio, a collection of Chinese folk tales by Qing dynasty scholar Pu Songling. In seven movements, the music depicts the plotline of how the man and the half-fox girl meet, fall in love, get married, and fight for justice together.

    Miss Ying Ning can be played with or without narration; the text can be narrated by any performer or performers, or a narrator.

    Thanks to the Argus Quartet, who came up with the brilliant idea as well as the text that is added in between movements, and to my friend, clarinetist Dr. Joshua Anderson, who helped refining the text with delicate retain of the originality of the story, as well as a fine touch of the lyrical artistry.

  • Purchasing Information

    At the store, checkout is handled via credit card. If you encounter any of the following situations while trying to make a purchase from the store, please don't hesitate to contact me directly:

    • You require an invoice.
    • Your credit card is not accepted. This can sometimes happen with credit cards issued by institutions or universities.
    • The piece you'd like to perform is not listed in the store.
    • You need to register Shuying Li Music as a vendor or plan to make a payment via check.
    • Your institution has specific resource requirements. We prioritize sharing music and are more than willing to negotiate any fees in order to accommodate your needs.
bottom of page